Hearthstone Decks

For a while I have been playing Hearthstone now. I try to stream it when I play (twitch.tv/jdean330) but sometimes I like to just sit and play a few games without worrying if I make wrong plays. Usually when I do that I have two decks that I really enjoy playing. Both of them are rush decks and they are not of the usual convention. Both require some thought instead of empty your hand and find ways to draw more cards to kill your opponent. Each one has drawbacks, and each one has strengths. They arent your conventional rush decks because you actually have to decide what you are going to do a couple turns ahead. Instead of talking more and more about the decks I will go ahead and post both of them. The first is the Warrior deck.

Warrior Rush

2x Abusive Sergeant

2x Leper Gnome

2x Stonetusk Boar

2x Fiery War Axe

2x Heroic Strike

2x Bluegill Warrior

2x Cruel Taskmaster

2x Questing Adventurer

2x Raid Leader

2x Warsong Commander (this will stay even after nerf)

2x Wolfrider

2x Dark Iron Dwarf (this will stay even after nerf)

2x Kor’kron Elite

2x Arcanite Reaper

2x Gurubashi Berserker.

When it came to making this deck I went with creatures that could either attack immediately or they impacted the board in some way when they entered. When playing a rush deck you want to play consistent, effective cards that make your opponent worry each time you play them. The name of the game is pressure and more pressure. Surprisingly I dont use my hero to trade allies. I go straight to the face unless the trade off of allies works in my favor. Each ally in the deck has some kind of synergy with another which works really well. Nothing beat using a cruel taskmaster as a killing spell or to make your Gurubashi Berserker bigger.

The other deck that I play for fun is a Shaman deck. Its murlocs and friends. This deck has a lot of one turn kill potential. The mistake people make against it is leaving totems on the board and then let me draw a bloodlust and let me kill them. The deck has early pressure that leads to low life by the end of turn 3 or 4. Usually 3 totems with a bloodlust ends the game if my opponent doesnt find killing the totems useful. The deck is a lot of fun to play and I have seen it get out of hand and win as early as turn 4.

Shamanistic Rage

2x Rockbiter Weapon

2x Grimscale Oracle

2x Leper Gnome

2x Murloc Raider

2x Murloc Tidecaller

2x Windfury

2x Bluegill Warrior

2x Dire Wolf Alpha

2x Faerie Dragon

2x Flametongue Totem

2x Murloc Tidehunter

2x Feral Spirit

2x Coldlight Seer

2x Mana Tide Totem

2x Bloodlust

As you can see the deck lays out cards in a hurry. Its not uncommon to be topdecking by turn 3 in this deck. The ability to generate totems, especially one with taunt is huge with this deck. The healing and searing totems help while the extra spell damage is a wasted 2 mana crystals. The name of the game is fast and hard. If you dont kill them with minions, the totems get the job done. If you lay out totems and your opponent is more worried about killing you, it can turn out to be a grave mistake. Ive had multiple games where they had lethal on board but I had 4 totems with a bloodlust. Its led to instant concedes and in some cases people trying to add me on Real ID to flame me.

These are the fun decks I have used in hearthstone. I plan on blogging a lot more about Hearthstone, Diablo 3, League of Legends, Infinite Crisis (the DC MOBA thats under an NDA) and other games as I continue to stream and get better. Thanks for reading. Dont forget to follow me on twitter at twitter.com/jdean330 and follow me on twitch.tv/jdean330.

Leave a Reply

